Search Site
Menu
307 West Rio Road | Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
Call For Consultation 434-973-7474
DUI Charge

DUI Attorney  | Charlottesville, Virginia

In Virginia, driving while under the influence of alcohol (DUI) is a serious offense with serious consequences. It is imperative that you are represented by a criminal law attorney who has the knowledge and skill to uphold your rights. Call us for a consult.

Andre A. Hakes – Criminal Defense, Sex Crimes & DUI Attorney

Contact us today for an Initial Consultation – It’s the first step to protecting yourself.

Request Initial Consultation


Four frequently asked questions about VA DUI charges:

1. What are the DUI penalties?

Depending on your age, the amount of alcohol you have consumed and other factors, your DUI charges may vary. In Virginia, the penalties for a DUI include:

  1. For a first offense:
    • Seven-day license suspension
    • Fine of $250–$300.
    • License revocation for one year
    • Criminal record
  2. For a second offense:
    • 60-day license suspension
    • Minimum $500 fine
    • Indefinite license revocation
    • If within fewer than five years of first offense, mandatory one month to one year in jail
    • If within five to 10 years of first offense, mandatory 10 days in jail, minimum
    • Criminal record
  3. For a third offense:
    • License suspension until trial
    • If within five years of previous offense, mandatory six months in jail
    • If within 10 years of previous offense, mandatory 90 days in jail
    • Indefinite license revocation
    • Felony charge

Note:  If you are younger than 21 and charged with a DUI, the charges are as follows:

  1. License suspension for up to one year
  2. Minimum fine of $500 or a minimum of 50 hours of community service
  3. Possible participation in Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)
  4. Possible restricted license

Being charged with a DUI has major consequences for your future. We can help you fight the charges against you.

Request Initial Consultation

2. How much do you have to drink to be charged with DUI in Virginia?

If you are pulled over for driving while intoxicated, whether or not you are charged with DUI will be determined by your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The BAC level resulting in your arrest depends on your age and what type of license you carry.

  1. If you are 21 years or older, you will be arrested if your BAC is 0.08% or higher.
  2. If you are younger than 21 years old, you will be arrested if your BAC is 0.02% or higher.
  3. If you are a commercial driver (CDL), you will be arrested if your BAC is 0.04% or higher.

If you have been arrested under suspicion of DUI, you need a knowledgeable criminal lawyer on your side to fight for your rights.

3. What happens if I refuse a drunk driving test?

In Virginia, there is an implied consent law stating that by getting behind the wheel of a car, you have consented to taking a blood or breath test to check your BAC. If you refuse to take the test, you driver’s license will be suspended

  1. First offense – one-year license suspension
  2. Second offense – three-year license suspension (if first offense occurred within 10 years)
  3. Third offense – three-year license suspension (if prior offense occurred within 10 years)

The first time you refuse to take a test is not considered a crime. However, a subsequent refusal is considered a misdemeanor. It does not pay to refuse the test — you may still be convicted even if you don’t take it.

4. What is your fee structure?

We handle cases on a flat fee or hourly basis. We will often be able to talk to you on the phone and quote you a fee. In some DUI cases, we can quote a fee over the phone. In others, we may need to meet with you or your family and gather further information. We do consultations at an hourly rate.

At the end of the consultation, we can determine the appropriate fee structure for your case, and you can evaluate our services and decide if you want to hire us to defend your case. We accept all major credit cards to assist with payment.


Your Next Step:

Contact us today – We’re ready to help.

Request Initial Consultation

We have three offices conveniently located in Charlottesville, Palmyra (Across from Food Lion), and Harrisonburg, Virginia.

See Our Videos
  • Charlottesville Personal Injury Attorney - It Is About the Money

  • Charlottesville Divorce Attorney - What To Expect During Your First Family Law Consultation

  • Criminal Defense - Don't Ever, Ever Talk To The Police Without An Attorney Present

  • Protect yourself during Move-In or Move-Out of an Apartment

  • How do I find a good personal injury attorney?

  • Charlottesville Estate Planning Talk

  • Charlottesville Personal Injury - What Is My Case Worth?

Meet Our Attorneys
Testimonials
  • ""Bill Tucker and his team were the answer to my real estate prayers! After being transferred to another state .."" - Short Sales

  • ""Yvonne Griffin represented me in an accident case that required many months of hands on attention .."" - Personal Injury

  • ""Ms. Barnes, I cannot thank you and your staff enough for taking my case at was a very dark time for me .."" - Social Security Disability

  • ""Lynn Bradley has been a force that has proven to be competent, professional and exceled at her work .."" - Worker's Compensation

  • ""Ms. Hakes, Thank you so much. You don't know what a wonderful gift you just gave to me, my son's .."" - Criminal Defense

  • ""When you first interview Laura Butler, it is apparent you are in the presence of a true professional in all .."" - Family Law

  • ""Mr. Tucker, I cannot thank you enough for all your work. I wish everyone had your work ethic and attention .."" - Real Estate

Firm Awards & Recognition
Contact us

Main Contact Form

    Attorney Advertising. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.